Lot 042 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Bouquet de fleurs dans un intérieur bleu

Jean DUFY (French, 1888 - 1964)

Oil on canvas

65 x 50 cm

Estimate

TWD 1,500,000-2,200,000

HKD 380,000-557,000

USD 48,500-71,100

CNY 347,000-509,000

Sold Price

TWD 1,680,000

HKD 430,769

USD 55,082

CNY 387,097


Signature

Signed lower right Jean Dufy

PROVENANCE:
Sotheby's New York, Impressionist and Modern Art, October 9, 1996, lot 95
Acquired from the above by the present owner

+ OVERVIEW

THE PAINTINGS INTERWOVEN WITH MUSIC AND COLORS: JEAN DUFY

With ten years age difference, the Dufy brothers, Raoul Dury and Jean Dufy, are two big figures in the French art history. The older Raoul is one of the most renowned fauvism artists and important mentor of his younger brother Jean during his artistic career. Jean Dufy's painting style is considered post-impressionistic with strong musical elements. As a unique emblem on the early 20th-century French art scene, his paintings used vivid colors to depict subjects such as the post-war French society, urban landscape, circuses, concerts, summer sailing competitions, and jazz.

Born in the Northwestern French dock city Le Havre in 1888, Jean Dufy went to Ecole des Beaux-Arts du Havre with his older brother Raoul. At the Cercle de l'Art Moderne exhibition in 1906, his aspiration to become an artist was ignited by many artists, including Henri Matisse, André Derain, Albert Marquet, and Pablo Picasso. Henri Matisse's Fenêtre ouverte à Collioure particularly enlightened and inspired him by the bright lighting and vivid colors of the painting.

In 1912, Jean Dufy followed his brother's step and came to Paris. With Raoul's introduction, Jean met many post-impressionism artists, including André Derain, Georges Braque, and Pablo Picasso. In 1914, He had his first solo show at Galerie Berthe Weill in Paris. The gallery had scaled the heights as the frontiers of the 20st-century avant-garde art. Many emerging young artists back then had their first show there. Besides the Dufy brothers, Picasso, Matisse, Jules Flandrin, and Georges Rouault also exhibited there.

After the First World War, Jean Dufy moved back to Paris and lived in Montmartre. He was a neighbor to Braque, who shared with him the ideas about Cubism art. In 1920, he painted the background for musical Le Boeuf sur le Toit. With this occasion, he was able to meet some of the most celebrated musicians at the time, Les Six, including Milaud, Auric, and Satie. Music brought his art into a new transformation and was the major factor of the novel choices of colors he had. To him, colors were the music and language gracefully dancing on his canvases.

Over the course of thirty years, Jean Dufy worked on the ornament design for Theodore Haviland in Limoges. He specialized in animal and floral pattern designs. In 1925, Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes was held in Paris and Jean Dufy won golden awards with the Châteaux de France cutlery design.

The painting Bouquet de fleurs dans un intérieur bleu was Jean Dufy's most representative work. The composition displays a collage of colors, which manifests the artist's talent with colors. The heavy strokes of blue, green, yellow, and red color blocks dissolve on the canvas and were livened by the outlines. With its strong decorative characteristics, the painting captured the genuine dynamic and impression of the moment more than a realistic depiction of the still life. It successfully immerses people in the glorious beauty of color and light. Jean Dufy preferred white and he used this color to depict a teacup, table cloth, flowers, and a cat in this painting. These objects scatter in the frame with a balanced composition. The sophisticated use of lights directs the viewers to the white table cloth. An abundant bouquet of flowers is like floating on top of it, dancing, moving, and contrasting with and stillness of the interior setting.

Many of the world-acclaimed artworks by Jean Dufy are now exhibited in the major art institutes in North America and Europe, including the Paris Museum of Modern Art, The Centre Pompidou, The Albertina, Vienna, The Art Institute of Chicago, and The Museum of Modern Art, New York.
Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

编号 042 罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

蓝色房间的花束

尚.杜菲 (法国, 1888 - 1964)

油彩 画布

65 x 50 cm

预估价格

TWD 1,500,000-2,200,000

HKD 380,000-557,000

USD 48,500-71,100

CNY 347,000-509,000

成交价格

TWD 1,680,000

HKD 430,769

USD 55,082

CNY 387,097


签名备注

签名右下:Jean Dufy

来源:
纽约苏富比,“印象派与现代艺术拍卖”,1996年10月9日,拍卖编号95
现有收藏者购自上述来源

+ 概述

音乐与色彩编织的绘画-尚.杜菲

法国艺术史上有两位杜菲,一是胡奥.杜菲(Raoul Dufy),二为尚.杜菲(Jean Dufy),二人为兄弟,相差十岁。哥哥胡奥是野兽派著名画家,亦为弟弟尚.杜菲创作生涯重要蒙师。尚.杜菲充满音乐性的后印象派风格,于二十世纪初法国艺坛独树一帜,以丰富色彩描绘战后巴黎社会,城市风貌、马戏团、音乐会、夏日帆船赛、爵士乐等皆是他创作的主题。

1888年出生于法国西北部诺曼第的港口城市勒阿弗尔(Le Havre),尚.杜菲与哥哥胡奥皆就读勒阿弗尔美术学院。1906年在一次“现代美术画会”画展中,马谛斯、德安、马克也、毕卡索等人的作品激发他成为画家的志趣,尤其马谛斯的《在寇里乌尔开启的窗户》,明亮光线和鲜艳缤纷的色彩,带给他莫大启示。

1912 年尚.杜菲追随兄长的脚步来到巴黎,在其引荐之下,认识了巴黎后印象派的德安、布拉克、毕卡索等人。1914年在巴黎贝尔特.威尔画廊(Galerie Berthe Weill)举行首次个展,该画廊是二十世纪初推动前卫艺术的翘楚,许多年轻潜力艺术家皆在此首次展览,除杜菲兄弟外,亦有毕卡索、马谛斯、朱勒.佛朗德兰、乔治.卢奥等。

一战结束后,尚.杜菲搬到巴黎蒙马特居住,与布拉克为邻,交流立体派创作理念。1920年为音乐剧《屋顶上的牛》制作布景,因而结识当时重要音乐家“六人团”成员米劳、奥瑞克、萨蒂等。音乐为他的绘画带来新的转变,令其用色衍生无穷变化。对他来说,色彩便是音乐和语言,在画布上翩翩舞动。

长达三十年,尚.杜菲为利摩日的西奥多.哈维兰德瓷场(Theodore Haviland)绘制装饰设计,擅长动物及花等图案。1925年在巴黎举办“现代装饰艺术及工业应用艺术国际大展”, 尚.杜菲以“法国古堡”(Châteaux de France)餐具组设计荣获金牌奖。

此幅《蓝色房间的花束》是尚.杜菲风格的典型之作。如色块拼布般的画面构成,展现艺术家过人的用色天赋。蓝、绿、黄、红等晕染块状笔触,掺杂轮廓勾线,增添动感生趣。如此装饰性强烈的绘画,比起对景中物件逐一真实地刻画,更重于捕捉当下概括的感觉及印象,令人沉浸在色光交织的绚烂美好之中。尚.杜菲偏好白色,画中茶杯、桌巾、花朵、猫,皆以白色绘成,错落分布平衡画面轻重,炉火纯青的光线掌握,聚焦视线于白色桌巾,丰盈的花束仿佛漂浮其上,跃然舞动姿态,与室内静景一动一静间呈现鲜明对比。

享誉国际的尚.杜菲作品,典藏于欧美各大美术机构,包括巴黎现代美术馆、庞毕度中心、维也纳阿尔贝蒂娜博物馆、芝加哥艺术学院及纽约现代美术馆等。
相关资讯

荟萃:国际现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00