Lot 049 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

La Rue Soufflot et le Panthéon

Bernard BUFFET (French, 1928 - 1999)

1956

Oil on canvas

97 x 130 cm

Estimate

TWD 14,000,000-22,000,000

HKD 3,544,000-5,570,000

USD 452,600-711,300

CNY 3,241,000-5,093,000

Sold Price

TWD 16,800,000

HKD 4,307,692

USD 550,820

CNY 3,870,968


Signature

Signed lower center Bernard Buffet and dated 56
Titled reverse La Rue Soufflot et le Panthéon
This lot is to be sold with a certificate of authenticity issued by Galerie Maurice Garnier, Paris.

PROVENANCE:
Galerie Maurice Garnier, Paris
Private collection, Asia

+ OVERVIEW

LE PANTHÉON IN BUFFET'S EYES: A SYMBOLIC EMBODIMENT FOR THE HUMANITIES

Known as the "successor of post-war realism", Bernard Buffet was a genius who was highly appreciated by both Pablo Picasso and Andy Warhol. His works of art have seen consistent success at auctions in recent years, attracting widespread attention throughout various circles. This autumn auction will feature La Rue Soufflot et le Panthéon, which was created by Bernard Buffet in 1956 and has been an important item of private collection since the 1950s. This debut auction will provide a rare opportunity for collectors to purchase it. According to the records of Buffet's works over the years, the Paris Landscape series produced in the 1950s is considered a historically representative landscape series with the highest appraisal and greatest market potential. In particular, his repeatedly record-breaking La Eiffel Tower resulted in a hammer price exceeding a million dollars in 2016, placing it third in the records of the private collection of his works worldwide.

Strolling over the left bank of the Latin Quarter of Paris, pedestrians are able to easily experience a thick humanities atmosphere, with magnificent buildings rising straight from the ground. The Panthéon jumps into their vision as they cross the Luxembourg Gardens and walk along the Rue Soufflot street. As symbolic embodiments of French culture and humanities, these buildings radiate an enormously solemn beauty that speaks to the great contributions made by distinguished French citizens across generations for the progress of the country and even human culture. The Panthéon also serves as a source of creative inspiration for artists. Whether that be the Paris landscape under the painting brush of Van Gogh and Manet, the Inside out-Au Panthéon! Art Project produced by contemporary artist JR in 2014, the limited-time art show Ice Watch co-organized by contemporary art masters Olafur Eliasson and Minik Rosing in 2015, or the La Mécanique de l'Histoire completed by the contemporary dance star Yoann Bourgeois in 2017, they brim with the admiration and respect of artists for the Panthéon regardless of the changes through history.

Recording what he saw with a brush by sketching his unique aesthetics into beautiful chapters, Buffet managed to translate an artist's subjective feelings into paintings. He exhibited the Paris Landscape Series at his personal annual exhibition in Galerie Maurice Garnier in 1957. As commented by the well-known poet and art critic Jean Cocteau: "The exhibition is first rate. A large number of Paris images, all naked, seemingly pulled away from any lives without traces of human presence left. The proof that a painter is a painter is when everything starts to look like his painting... After the visit (evening was falling) I saw the city with Bernard's eyes.” Should an artist attempt to strike a chord with viewers' hearts through history and going beyond the aesthetics of buildings themselves, the artist must break through the long-standing stereotypes of viewers. This is a challenge just like walking on a cliff edge, reaching a mountaintop, or falling into the valley bottom.

Born in Paris, Buffet reached the pinnacles of his artistic career in the 1950s and the 1980s, respectively. He created a series of landscape paintings featuring significant historical buildings in Paris, including the Eiffel Tower, Pont Alexandre III, Palais Garnier, Place Vendôme, Basilique du Sacré-Coeur de Montmartre and more. Since childhood, Buffet held a keen interest in architecture, and explored the beauty of architecture during his studies at École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris. Hailed as the crown jewel of European architectural history, Paris has undergone centuries of evolution and expansion, while preserving the masterpieces of architectural masters, witnessing the evolvement of history, and even surviving the baptism of World War II. Buffet, an artist and witness who had an unbreakable bond with Paris, drew inspiration from the city. It is no wonder why he was so fascinated to express his deep memories of Paris with his brush.

The visual angle of La Panthéon expands to the center of the perspective point along the juxtaposed buildings at the sides of the Rue Soufflot Street, so that viewers feel as if they are standing on the street, looking up at the Pantheon at the end. As the slope gradually goes up, the viewers embark on a travel through time, immersed in the magnificent feats. Intricately woven lines in geometry reveal rationality and indifference, while the varying tones with painting grayscale link the hovering skylight layout with the dark shadows of the buildings, making viewers sense a faint existential melancholy well up in their hearts. The tone variance narrates the young artist's sense of delicacy and keen insight into viewer's emotions that guides them into the scene. An introspective dialogue is initiated between the painter and viewers on why there are no people or vehicles on a street that should be bustling, replaced with a sense of alienation. The buildings' domineering occupation over the center of the painting forces viewers to face the empty city directly. Like the empty husk of a person without a soul, the painter expresses his disappointment towards humanity and his grievances regarding war.

Buffet was granted the Prix de la Critique by Galerie Saint Placide in 1948, rated as the top of“The Ten Best Post-war Artists” by the magazine Connaissance des Arts in 1955, and awarded the French Knight Medal of Honor in 1971. In 1973, the Bernard Buffet Museum was founded by Kitaro Okano in Surugadaira, Japan, so that the artist's outstanding achievements could be recognized across the world. Seen from the macroscopic perspective of the art market, few painters can rival Buffet, whose works are being passionately sought after by collectors and enthusiasts across the world. Furthermore, in recent years, the world has seen a steady increase of Buffet's works that repeatedly break records in transaction volume at auctions. As a result, their continuous rise in value is very foreseeable.
Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

编号 049 罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

巴黎万神殿

贝尔纳.毕费 (法国, 1928 - 1999)

1956年

油彩 画布

97 x 130 cm

预估价格

TWD 14,000,000-22,000,000

HKD 3,544,000-5,570,000

USD 452,600-711,300

CNY 3,241,000-5,093,000

成交价格

TWD 16,800,000

HKD 4,307,692

USD 550,820

CNY 3,870,968


签名备注

签名下方:Bernard Buffet 56
题识画背:La Rue Soufflot et le Panthéon
附巴黎莫里斯.贾尼耶画廊开立之原作保证书

来源:
莫里斯.贾尼耶画廊,巴黎
私人收藏,亚洲

+ 概述

毕费眼中的巴黎万神殿
人文思想的载体象征

贝尔纳.毕费(Bernard Buffet)被誉为“战后写实主义的接班人”,大师毕卡索与安迪.沃荷都赞赏的天才,其近年拍卖佳绩赢得各界关注。此次秋拍,毕费于1956年创作的《巴黎万神殿》,自1950年代起作为重要私人收藏,首度公开拍卖,稀有难得。细数历年纪录,1950年代巴黎城市风景系列,尤其屡创纪录《艾斐尔铁塔》在2016年拍卖成交价超越百万美金门槛,高居其全球个人纪录第三名,乃是该艺术家拥有最高评价、市场潜力与历史代表性兼具之风景系列。

漫步于巴黎左岸拉丁区,不难感受浓厚的人文气息,当行人穿越卢森堡公园,顺延苏夫洛街(Rue Soufflot)缓缓而上,映入眼帘是路底矗立宏伟的建筑:巴黎“万神殿”(Le Panthéon)。建筑物本体散发的巨大肃穆之美,作为法国文化人文思想的载体象征,细数守护历代先贤对国家乃至人类文化进步的伟大贡献。更是艺术家灵感创作之泉源,无论是梵谷、马奈笔下的巴黎风景,或拉至近代2014年当代艺术家JR《内而外,万神殿!》艺术计划,2015年当代艺术大师奥拉维亚.埃利亚松(Olafur Eliasson)与米尼克.罗辛(Minik Rosing)合作限时艺术展演《冰表》;2017年当代舞蹈新星布尔乔亚(Yoann Bourgeois)完成名为《历史机制》的作品,皆可见跨越历史洪流,艺术家们对万神殿的仰慕与崇敬。

毕费以画笔纪录所见,独特美学构成篇章,转译成创作者内蕴主观感受的画作。巴黎风景系列1957年于巴黎贾尼耶画廊毕费的个人年度展览发表。知名诗人艺术评论家尚.考克多评论:“这是一流的展览,那庞大且诚然的巴黎印象,仿佛抽离了生命毫无人迹。一位画家被认可的证明,乃是与世界相融为他的画作 ⋯ 当结束参观,暮色落下,我透过毕费的眼看见了这座城市。”当艺术家欲利用历史为基础,并超脱建筑物本体美学的范畴,进而触动欣赏者心中底蕴共鸣,必须克服观者层层叠叠的既定印象,宛如一项行走于高山棱线的挑战,若非登峰造极,即是坠入谷底 ⋯。

生于巴黎的毕费,分别于1950年代与1980年代创作其艺术生涯颠峰,巴黎重要历史建筑的系列风景画作,包含:艾菲尔铁塔、亚历山大三世桥、巴黎歌剧院、凡登广场、蒙马特圣心堂等等。毕费自幼对建筑报以浓厚兴趣,他在巴黎高等美术学院求学期间,修习钻研建筑之美。作为欧洲建筑史明珠,巴黎历经数百年演变扩张,保有众多建筑大师之作,见证历史轨迹演变,更侥幸逃过二次世界大战火的洗礼。毕费作为与巴黎,有不解之缘的创作者及见证人,汲取这座城市赋予的灵感,以画笔寄情抒发对巴黎的深刻记忆便是再自然不过。

《巴黎万神殿》视角随街景两旁并列建筑物,向中间延伸聚集到中心的透视点。观者如临现场在苏夫洛街底,遥望尽头的巴黎万神殿。随缓坡渐行而上,如穿越时光流转,徜徉在英豪贤者留芳百世的功业事迹。丝丝入扣的线条,几何横竖贯注着理性和冷漠。随画面灰阶色调的转变,由向上远望的天光布局连至建筑的暗色阴影,内心悄然而生一股存在主义式的淡淡忧郁。色彩转述青年艺术家纤细敏感洞察力,渲染情绪引导观者进入情景。双方沉静地开启内省对话,试问应当熙来攘往的街道,为何不见人车,徒留庞大的疏离感拢罩四周。当画中的建筑物占据画面中央,逼迫观者直视,拭去人迹的城市,如一具抽离灵魂的躯壳,淡淡流露对人性与战争的失望伤感。

1948年毕费于巴黎圣博拉西德画廊获得“艺评奖”。1955年他被法国《艺术鉴赏杂志》选为“战后十大最杰出艺术家”之首。1971年他获颁法国骑士荣誉勋章。1973年日本大收藏家冈野喜一郎在静冈县三岛的骏河町,成立贝尔纳.毕费美术馆,艺术家的卓越成就受到世人肯定。宏观艺术市场,毕费更是少见,能在全球重点地区,北达俄罗斯南至澳大利亚,横跨欧亚大陆,纵横南北美洲,皆有资深藏家与爱好者的艺术家。其拍卖场近年稳健上升,成交数量不断攀升的佳绩,已是全球市场有目共睹,未来增值性可以预见。
相关资讯

荟萃:国际现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00