Lot 039 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

D'Ocre Reconstruit (Castle of Ocre)

Pierre ALECHINSKY (Belgian, 1927)

1994

Oil on paper and mounted onto canvas

122 x 75 cm

Estimate

TWD 4,200,000-6,500,000

HKD 1,063,000-1,646,000

USD 135,800-210,200

CNY 972,000-1,505,000

Sold Price


Signature

Signed lower left Alechinsky
Signed reverse Alechinsky, dated 1994 and titled D'Ocre Reconstruit



+ OVERVIEW

POWERFUL BRUSH WORK, UNIQUE AMBIVALENT STYLE BETWEEN FIGURATIVE AND ABSTRACT

There is a deep connection between the CoBrA movement and Taiwan, where important historical moments for modern art in the West and Taiwan happened. In 1989, their works were exhibited for the first time in Taiwan. In 1992, the Taipei Fine Arts Museum held a retrospective exhibition for Alechinsky’s prints. In 1994, Karel Appel’s retrospective exhibition was held in the Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts. Later, in 1999, in celebration of their 50th anniversary, the two museums held retrospective exhibitions dedicated to the CoBrA movement, inviting Guillaume Corneille (1922-2010) to attend in person (see lot 037) and meet with many Taiwanese scholars and artists. Pierre Alechinsky, an important member of the movement, befriended Chinese-American painter Walasse Ting in 1954. The two travelled to the US in the 1960s, linking the art community of Paris with that in New York City. In the 1980s, Taiwanese artist Chen Cheng-Shiung went to Europe to host an exhibition, and met Alechinsky and other members of CoBrA. His early works were also inspired by the movement.

With Jean Dubuffet's masterpieces trending on the market in recent years, all the groups chronologically related to the Art Brut movement are coming back into the spotlight. In November 1949, a group of poets and painters from Copenhagen, Brussels and Amsterdam formed the CoBrA movement, with the initials of their respective cities as their name. As a crucial part in post-war art development, the CoBrA movement emphasizes on returning to the early stages of humanity, and to inspire the inherited art instinct that human beings lost in civilization. The movement rejects the formalism paintings of the Western world, and instead promotes Eastern calligraphy, aboriginal art, children art and Art Brut, which have all become inspirations for CoBrA artists.

Alechinsky, who is of Jewish origin, was born in Brussels, Belgium in 1927. During Spring 1949, the young Alechinsky attended the first exhibition of CoBrA artists in Paleis voor Schone Kunsten, Brussels, and was invited to join the movement by“The Mentor” of the movement, Christian Dotremont. The studio he shared with Raymond Cossé later became a location for important CoBrA meetings. In the early 1950s, he acquired a French scholarship to extend his study in Paris, where he met Walasse Ting and Japanese calligrapher Shiryu Morita. During this period, he began his research into Eastern arts and culture, which influenced his use of creative material and styles greatly. In 1961, Alechinsky's documentary clip Calligraphie Japonaise was awarded in Tokyo. He later went to New York City and borrowed Ting's studio to work, as well as hold his first solo exhibition there the following year.

The Castle of Ocre was created by Alechinsky in 1994, when he was inspired by the ruins of the medieval castle in Ocre, southern Italy. This particular work was bought by a private collector upon completion, and hasn't been seen in public until now. The usage of past experience and the relevance of its context in this piece proved the later view that a work of art is made by an artist who is mixing experience with imagination, shifting between the past and present, and wandering between reality and dreams. In his early years, Alechinsky obtained education from art schools, where he was inspired by the ideology of the era. As a result, his style transcended the trend of expressionism in Belgium at the time as well as French surrealism. It even caused the CoBrA movement to become freed of any established norms, while freely accepting and absorbing elements of folklore and myth into creative elements.

The Castle of Ocre utilizes the quality of paper for the spread of paint, allowing the artist to better depict curved silhouettes. Perhaps partly due to the reason that the artist was not constrained by the calligraphic training of Eastern characters, he was able to fully rely on his instinct to control his brush and create a brand new style. By being passively limited by unfamiliarity to the medium, he was able to liberate himself from the boundaries given by his education, and fully rely on his senses and the image in his mind to complete the work with a pure and rough style close to that of a child. The structure of the piece is hidden beneath the silhouettes, which magnifies the recognizable stair geometry to force the viewer's focus there. The experience is similar to the progress of climbing a mountain castle, or to the expression of a Chinese shan shui scroll. When we see the work as a whole, the artist's boldness becomes clear in not following the traditional structure of Western painting by reducing the sense of a clear, meaningful subject. Aside from marking a change in creative practices, this also challenges the viewers' pre-existing habits and knowledge, asking them to proactively take part in the artist's creative concepts and core ideology.

Alechinsky's artistic achievements were quickly recognized and acknowledged by scholars. Invited by the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris to join its faculty, he worked there from 1983 to 1987. Museums from around the world also invited him actively, from the retrospective exhibition in Paleis voor Schone Kunsten, Belgium in 1969, the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Denmark, to participating in the 36th La Biennale di Venezia on behalf of Belgium with Dortmund. He also held solo exhibitions at Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburg, USA in 1977, Musée National d'Art Moderne of the Centre Georges-Pompidou in Paris in 1978, Museum of Modern Art and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City in 1987, as well as Musée de l'Orangerie, Paris in 1988. Between 2018 and 2019, Alechinsky also accepted Vienna State Opera's invitation to celebrate his 90th birthday, where he participated in the contemporary art project and applied his designs on the opera house's stages.


Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

编号 039 罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

奥克雷城堡

皮耶.阿雷钦斯基 (比利时, 1927)

1994年

油彩 纸 画布

122 x 75 cm

预估价格

TWD 4,200,000-6,500,000

HKD 1,063,000-1,646,000

USD 135,800-210,200

CNY 972,000-1,505,000

成交价格


签名备注

签名左下:Alechinsky
签名题识画背:Alechinsky 1994 D'Ocre Reconstruit 122 x 75 cm



+ 概述

强烈的笔触,游走具象与抽象之间独特风格

眼镜蛇画派与台湾渊源甚深,是台湾与西洋现代美术交会的重要历史时刻。1989年该画派作品第一次来台展出,1992年台北市立美术馆举办阿雷钦斯基版画回顾展,1994年于高雄市立美术馆举办卡. 阿贝尔 (Karel Appel)回顾展,1999年庆贺眼镜蛇画派成立五十周年,台北市立美术馆与高雄市立美术馆,双双举办眼镜蛇画派五十周年展览,艺术家柯奈尔 (Guillaume Corneille, 1922-2010)亲自访台(见 lot 037)会面诸多在台学者与艺术家。而上述提及该派重要成员之一:皮耶. 阿雷钦斯基在1954年与美籍华裔画家丁雄泉(Walasse Ting)投缘结识。1960年代两人赴美创作并连结起巴黎与纽约艺坛之交流,1980年代台湾艺术家陈正雄访欧展出,与阿雷钦斯基和该派成员等人结识,早期作品同样受到前者启发。

艺术大师杜布菲(Jean Dubuffet)近年的市场行情飞涨,带动“原生艺术”(Art Brut)同时代相关团体重回市场关注。1949年11月“眼镜蛇画派”(CoBrA)由一群来自哥本哈根(Copenhagen)、布鲁塞(Brussels) 及阿姆斯特丹(Amsterdam)的诗人、画家,以三个首都代称命名正式发表宣言成立。作为战后艺术发展的重要环节,其着力回溯原始文明,启发人类因社会教化而丧失,深植于内在的天生艺术本能。并反对西方法则的美学形式主义绘画,对于东方的书法、原住民艺术、儿童艺术与原生艺术等探索,都是眼镜蛇艺术家们创作灵感的泉源。

具犹太血统的阿雷钦斯基,1927年出生于比利时布鲁塞尔。1949年春季年轻的阿雷钦斯基,参观了眼镜蛇画派第一次于布鲁塞尔艺术宫的展览,受画派 “精神导师”克里斯蒂. 多托蒙(Christian Dotremont)邀请加入该画派,而他与柯塞 (Raymond Cossé)共用的画室,成为眼镜蛇群艺术群集会的重要据点。1950年初期得法国支助奖学金前往艺术之都巴黎深造,在此接触来自中国的丁雄泉与日本书道家森田子龙(Morita Shiryu),期间开启对东方艺术文化艺术的实验与研究,在创作媒材的使用和风格形塑上有了极大的蜕变。1961年阿雷钦斯基拍摄的纪录短片《日本的书道》(Calligraphie japonaise)在东京获得奖赏肯定,他转往美国纽约市,借用丁雄泉的画室,并在次年于该市举行首次个人展览。

此次拍品《奥克雷城堡》是1994年阿雷钦斯基的创作,走访位于义大利南部建于中世纪的奥克雷城堡遗迹,心中有感而发之作。此作自艺术家完成,即为私人收藏家购藏,首次公开于市,而画作的汲古喻今,应证后世观点,转衬作品是艺术家习于交融“经验”与“想像”,流畅穿梭于古今,悠游于“现实”和“梦境”之间的证明。阿雷钦斯基早期学习于正统学院,受当代思潮与时具进刺激,因此其艺术风格不仅超脱当时比利时表现主义与法国超现实主义的影响,更升华眼镜蛇画派宗旨不受教条束缚,广阔地吸纳各种民俗传说、神话文学的元素,内蕴成自身创作元素。

《奥克雷城堡》就材质上画纸的吸水性与颜料的晕染扩散,比起使用油彩,更能画出蜿蜒的线条。或许也由于艺术家本身并无受到东方文字书写训练的限制,即能在运笔上发于内在直觉,型塑出新笔法,“被动”受限于媒材的不熟悉,来解放创作者因后天教育所承载的束缚,萦绕感官脑海的具象形态,以近似孩童涂鸦的质拙笔触来完成作品。隐藏在线条构成看似散漫且抽象随性的构图,刻意放大加强辨识性的几何状阶梯造型,强行聚焦观者视觉,既像攀登山城的过程,又如山水卷轴的表现,上下赏阅整幅画作,艺术家在此勇于打破西方构图传统,淡化明确意义的主体描绘。除了改变创作的途径,也是挑战观者既有的习性与认知,参与其创作理念与核心思辨过程。

阿雷钦斯基划时代的艺术成就,很快受到学界的肯定,1983年至1987年间巴黎高等美术学院邀请阿雷钦斯基教授莘莘学子。各大美术馆纷纷提出展览邀约,1969年“比利时艺术宫”举行回顾展,随后巡展于丹麦“国立路易斯安那现代美术馆”,并与艺术家多特蒙代表比利时参与第三十六届威尼斯双年展。1977年美国匹兹堡“卡内基研究院美术馆”、1978年法国巴黎“庞毕度艺术中心之现代美术馆”、1987年美国纽约“现代艺术馆”、1987年美国纽约“古根汉美术馆”、1988年法国巴黎“橘园美术馆”等全球一级美术馆举行个人展览。2018年至2019年,阿雷钦斯基更接受维也纳国立歌剧院(Vienna State Opera),表达敬意与庆贺他九十岁生日的创作邀请,参与其作品图案设计歌剧院舞台的当代艺术计划。


相关资讯

荟萃:国际现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00