Lot 036 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

86Y09 (Untitled)

Tsuyoshi MAEKAWA (Japanese, 1936)

1986 - 1991

Burlap, oil on canvas

92 x 131 cm

Estimate

TWD 1,600,000-2,400,000

HKD 405,000-608,000

USD 51,700-77,600

CNY 370,000-556,000

Sold Price


Signature

Signed reverse Tsuyoshi Maekawa in Kanji and English and dated '86'91

PROVENANCE:
Whitestone Gallery, Hong Kong
Private collection, Taiwan

+ OVERVIEW

"The transformation of materials from their most primitive states is a process that requires destruction before re-creation, and this also illustrates the freedom and originality of art." -Tsuyoshi Maekawa

Japanese Gutai master Tsuyoshi Maekawa was born in Osaka in 1936. Between 1962 and 1972, he participated in the Japanese Gutai art movement after World War II and has since become an important representative figure. Maekawa's artistic aesthetics contains the beauty of life and energy. The majestic force in his style vitalizes viewers like a clear spring that heals inner peace from external disturbances. He used a variety of fabrics and paints to explore the reality inside and outside the painting space. Through the creator's vision and skillful hands, different images of mountains, glaciers, deserts, and oceans are realized one by one.

In 1954, Gutai founder Jiro Yoshihara defined the highest principle of Gutai to be "creating unprecedented art." It encouraged young artist groups in Japan to recover from the post-war defeat and build a new future for Japanese contemporary art by making revolutionary breakthroughs, boldly applying different forms and techniques, as well as challenging existing impressions and rules. Gutai members played active roles in world art trends and used the convenience of information from communications technology to connect with European and American art communities beyond national borders. East Asian contemporary art began its new chapter, and Tsuyoshi Maekawa is a successful artist for several decades under this rapidly changing era, in his march forward along the journey of creation.

In addition to his early exposure to Japanese pottery, Maekawa has always used "burlap" as a creative material because he is moved by ancient totems. As Maekawa explained, "I have always persisted in the media's materiality, but it is not about making a bold presentation without any modifications. The aim is to highlight the tension and create a line density that corresponds to surface colors through textiles like burlaps and cotton cloths. The transformation of materials from their most primitive states is a process that requires destruction before re-creation, and this also illustrates the freedom and originality of art."

You can't make an omelette without breaking eggs. Maekawa did not always succeed in finding his own path. He had also experimented with other materials such as wood, iron, and cement. However, the combination of intertwining fabric fibers and the logical, perpendicular composition with colors and art produced an unknown possibility. The artist experimentally mixed and created a free and open universe of brilliant colors by allowing paint to drip on, expand, fill up, overlay, and infiltrate the fabric. It takes viewers on a journey to see like a flying eagle, overlooking mountains and rivers from the clouds and remembering the grand and open views in their hearts. The period between the 1950s and 1972 marked Maekawa's first phase of Gutai movement participation, during which he explored and focused on using natural colors and juxtaposing layers of fabrics and paints. The second phase was from 1970 to the 1980s, when he replaced firm burlap materials with soft, light-weight cotton cloths, and derived a style of expression with many geometric shapes from precise sewing techniques. In recent years, Maekawa implemented different patterns of regular ripples by using flexible techniques.

With modern shifts in the development of world art history, influential art museums now perceive the arts of Gutai members as non-negligible, important targets of collection in the history of art. Among these Gutai members, Maekawa was at the peak of his career during the 1980s. He was invited to many exhibitions and he received awards and academic recognition for several years in succession. Some examples include the Tokyo Metropolitan Art Museum Prize at the 15th Contemporary Art Exhibition of Japan in 1981, and the National Museum Prize of the Japanese Emblem Art Award in 1982. In 1985 and 1986, Maekawa held nearly 20 exhibitions of varying scales. Currently, Maekawa's artworks are collected by several world-class museums, including the Tate Museum in London, the National Museum of Modern Art in Kyoto, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo, M+ Pavilion in Hong Kong, and the Long Museum in Shanghai.

Created in 1986, the auction item 86Y09 (Untitled) is a masterpiece that took the artist six years to complete. It was originally an important private collection in Asia, and it is now presented at this autumn auction for the first time. The bold, explicit black fabric grains look like clay piled up on the canvas plane. When viewers stare at 86Y09 (Untitled), their sight inadvertently follows the winding patterns as they comb through their inner distractions and focus on imagining the image. They can almost visualize a rising sun with a glittering pink river about to wake up. The black fabric looks like the abundant black earth washed up by the river, while a shade of canary yellow V-shape crosses the sky like a crowd of wild geese, flying freely under the mild breeze and gold morning twilight. The artwork breaks through the barriers of traditional painting and sculpture, and upgrades a 2D plane to a 3D space. The creator viewed spatial concept as a kind of utopia and used non-traditional art media to create this piece of artwork. The process of creation left behind a path that calls for a whole new and unpredictable infinitude. This is also an inseparable element for the integrity of Maekawa's style of aesthetics.
Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

编号 036 罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

86Y09(无题)

前川强 (日本, 1936)

1986 - 1991年

麻布 油彩 画布

92 x 131 cm

预估价格

TWD 1,600,000-2,400,000

HKD 405,000-608,000

USD 51,700-77,600

CNY 370,000-556,000

成交价格


签名备注

签名画背:前川强 '86'91

来源:
白石画廊,香港
私人收藏,台湾

+ 概述

“转化物质最原始的状态,须要先破坏再论创造的过程,恰巧说明了艺术的自由及其原创性。”─ 前川强

日本具体派大师前川强,1936年生于大坂,1962年至1972间参与二次大战后日本具体派艺术运动,成为重要代表人物。其艺术美学内蕴充沛生命力之美,风格显见的磅礴力道,如一道清泉洗涤观者,治愈为俗世纷扰的心境。他运用各式布材与颜料,开辟绘画空间的里外虚实。在创作者眼眸手心间,将各式山川、冰河、沙漠与海洋的意象一一实现。

1954年具体派创建人:吉原治良订定最高原则“创造前所未有之物”,激起日本年轻艺术家群体,决心从战后的颓败中,开拓出日本现代美术崭新的未来,具革命性的突破,大胆运用各种形式与技巧,颠覆旧有的印象与规则。具体派成员积极参与世界艺术潮流,使用通讯科技带来的资讯方便,跨出国界用行动加速向前接轨欧美艺坛脉动。东亚现代美术的新篇章展开,而前川强正是这股涌升的时代浪潮下,持续数十年持续发光发热,在创作征途中迈进的艺术家。

除早年接触日本陶器,为古老图腾所感动,始终运用“粗麻布”这项材质的原因。前川强本人解释道:“终其一生,我非常执着于媒材的物质性,但不是毫无修饰地赤裸呈现。而是为了强调张力,透过麻布、棉布等织品,努力创造可与表面色彩相对应的线条密度。而转化物质最原始的状态,一种须要先破坏再论创造的过程,恰也说明了艺术自由所在及其原创性。”

有割舍才有收获,寻找适合自己的道路中,前川强并非一帆风顺,他也试过其他材质如木头、铁、水泥等等。然而,布匹纤维交错,经纬构成的逻辑性,遇上色彩与艺术增添了一份未知的可能。艺术家实验性地交错促成,让颜料滴落、漫延、填满、覆盖、浸润着布面,五颜六色的缤纷碰撞成自由和漫天开阔的宇宙。带领观者视野如飞鹰,翱翔于云霄俯视山川大地,将整片宏伟开阔纳进心底。1950年代到1972年是前川强涵盖探索,参与具体派运动的第一阶段。早期色调自然,以织品与颜料间的层叠并置为关注焦点;第二个阶段是1970到1980年代,软薄的棉布取代坚固的粗麻布料,缝纫技巧精密,衍生出许多几何形状的表现形式。而近年则施行疏落有致,技巧收放自如的规律波纹。

现今,随世界美术史发展的版图转移,各重点美术馆更将具体派成员,视为艺术史上不可忽视的重要典藏标的。其中,1980年代为前川强之极盛时期,各界展览邀约不断,并连续多年获奖受到学界肯定,如:1981年第15回现代日本美术展荣获东京都美术馆奖、1982年日本国徽奖美术作品展荣获国家美术馆奖。尤其1985年与1986年,大小型展览近20场。目前前川强作品也为众多世界级美术馆,包括:伦敦泰德美术馆、国立京都近代美术馆、东京都现代美术馆、香港M+美术馆、上海龙美术馆所典藏。

拍品《86Y09(无题)》,创作于1986年,为艺术家历程六年才完成的呕心之作。原为亚洲重要私人收藏,此次秋拍首度现于拍场。画面粗犷不造作的黑色布纹,几乎像陶土堆砌在画布平面上。当观者注视《86Y09(无题)》其视觉不经意顺着蜿蜒的纹路漂流,当顺开心境的烦杂,专注于想像画面。仿佛见到那旭日东升,波光淋漓的粉色河面刚要甦醒。黑布如河域冲积的丰饶黑土,一抹鹅黄V字型穿越上空,好似大雁结群,乘着和煦微风与金色曙光自在翱翔。作品跳脱传统绘画与雕塑的限制,二次元的平面推升到三次元立体空间。创作者视空间观念为一种乌托邦的形式,运用非传统艺术媒材创造,途中留下的过程轨迹,召唤出崭新且不可预知的无限,也是构成前川强美学,不可切割的完整性要素。
相关资讯

荟萃:国际现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00