Lot 046 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Les Violents contre eux-mêmes

Gérard GAROUSTE (French, 1946)

1986 - 1987

Oil on canvas

250 x 215 cm

Estimate

TWD 3,600,000-4,200,000

HKD 911,000-1,063,000

USD 116,400-135,800

CNY 833,000-972,000

Sold Price


Signature

Signed lower right Garouste and inscribed R13034
This lot is to be sold with a picture of the artwork signed by the artist.

PROVENANCE:
Private collection, Asia

+ OVERVIEW

French artist Gérard Garouste was born in 1946 in Paris. The 73-year-old artist is credited one of the best French contemporary artists and honored Member of the Académie des Beaux-Arts in 2017, succeeding Georges Mathieu, the leading figure of Lyrical Abstraction.

Garouste graduated from the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris, and began his creative career in the 1970s. During this period, the French art scene was in the midst of a pioneering era where nothing was taboo. This era gave birth to a large number of new art mediums and techniques. However, he applied a more traditional approach and returned to the history painting with traditional aesthetics. Literature is an important source of inspiration for Garouste, spanning from Greek and Roman mythology, the Bible, Jewish Classics, The Divine Comedy by Dante, Don Quixote by Cervantes, The Life of Gargantua and of Pantagruel by Rabelais to Faust by Goethe.

Garouste held his first solo exhibition in 1980 at the Galerie Durand-Dessert in Paris, and rose quickly to fame in the French art scene. As a young rising star, he came and held an exhibition at the Leo Castelli Gallery in New York. Due to his great admiration of Garouste, Castelli purchased and collected a large number of Garouste's huge pieces.

The work Les Violents contre eux-mêmes is one of the greatest works in this series. The dark and gloomy background coupled with the rough and irregular brushwork creates an unsettling hellscape atmosphere. The concrete narrative is combined with abstract and schematic forms of expression. The human figure is reduced to several thick brush strokes, relating to the black lines of Chinese ink painting. The well-arranged light and dark elements evoke a sense of tension and anxiety in the viewer.

The painting depicts the poet Dante as he enters Hades. The sinners who "use violence on their own body" are transformed into cancerous tree with poisonous thorns and fluids gushing out of its broken branches, like blazing fire, flowing into the dazzling gem-like river. Garouste connects literature with surrealistic fantasy to explore the origins of human culture, allowing viewers to interpret the symbolic meanings behind the imagery, and experience the inspiration and power that paintings can bring.

From Paris to the world, Garouste has been exhibiting internationally in top museums and galleries, including Italy's Galleria Sperone, Germany's Rudolf Zwirner, Tokyo's Touko Museum, and the Los Angeles Museum of Modern Art. The Centre Pompidou held a solo exhibition for him in 1988. In 2009, the French Academy in Rome hosted a large scale retrospective exhibition of Garouste's works. Collections of his works can be found at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, and the Paris Museum of Modern Art, the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen, and the Santa Monica Art Museum, and more. Public sculptures such as his Défi du Soleil in Le Parc de Saint-Cloud, a national park near Paris can also be seen.
Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

编号 046 罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

神曲的故事

杰哈.贾胡斯特 (法国, 1946)

1986 - 1987年

油彩 画布

250 x 215 cm

预估价格

TWD 3,600,000-4,200,000

HKD 911,000-1,063,000

USD 116,400-135,800

CNY 833,000-972,000

成交价格


签名备注

签名右下:Garouste R13034
附艺术家亲笔签名之作品照片

来源:
私人收藏,亚洲

+ 概述

法国艺术家杰哈.贾胡斯特,1946年出生于巴黎,现年73岁的他,作为法国最杰出的当代艺术家之一,2017年获选法兰西艺术院院士,接替抒情抽象之父乔治.马修的席次。

贾胡斯特毕业于巴黎美术学院,1970年代开启创作生涯,当时法国艺术界前卫当道,艺术创作手法无所禁忌,在媒材和技法上纷纷推陈出新,艺术的范围被重新定义。然而贾胡斯特却选择一条看似传统的创作途径,在具象美学架构之下,回归古典故事画创作。文学是他作品的重要元素,举凡希腊罗马神话、圣经、犹太教经典、但丁《神曲》、拉伯雷《巨人传》、赛万提斯《唐吉轲德》、歌德《浮士德》等文本,皆是他创作的灵感来源。

1980年贾胡斯特在巴黎杜宏-迪赛尔画廊(Galerie Durand-Dessert)举行个人首展,崛起于法国艺坛,年轻成名的他来到纽约知名当代艺术经纪人主持的里奥.卡斯特里画廊(Leo Castelli Gallery)展出,卡斯特里很欣赏贾胡斯特,收藏他许多大幅作品。

1980至1987年间贾胡斯特名声逐渐确立。1986至1987年,他创作了一系列以但丁《神曲》(The Divine Comedy)为主题的油画,近二十件巨幅逸品长宽皆逾两米,极适合大型博物馆收藏。《神曲》是文艺复兴初期义大利诗人但丁的作品,作于西元14世纪前叶,是一部充满隐喻性、象征性,同时也具现实性的奇幻文学,叙述但丁幽游三界,历经地狱、炼狱,最终来到天堂的神秘旅程,如同一场自我救赎,从暗地回到光明。

作品《神曲的故事》即为此系列佳作之一。幽暗深蓝背景,粗旷而不规则的笔触,塑造惶恐不安的地狱氛围。具象叙事中掺杂抽象、概要化表现手法,将人物简化为几笔粗线轮廓,令人联想到东方水墨画的白纸黑线。而错落有致的明暗及光线安排,塑造画面张力,灌注紧张情绪。

此幅作品描绘诗人但丁走进幽冥,“使用暴力于己身”的罪人,化为树的节与瘤,荆棘带毒,树枝折断流出汁液,火烧般的炽烈,注入宝石色潺动长河。串联文学和超现实幻境,贾胡斯特透过绘画探讨人类文化根源,让观者解读图像符码背后的启示意义,感受画作的力量。

从巴黎到世界,贾胡斯特于各地一线博物馆及画廊展览,包括义大利杜林的思佩罗内画廊(Galleria Sperone)、德国科隆的鲁道夫.卓纳画廊(Rudolf Zwirner)、东京东高现代美术馆(Touko Museum)以及洛杉矶现代美术馆。1988年巴黎庞毕度中心为其举行个展,2009年罗马法兰西学院举行其大型回顾展。作品收于纽约现代美术馆、巴黎庞毕度中心和现代美术馆、法国卡昂美术馆、圣塔莫妮卡美术馆等机构。亦有公共雕塑作品,如位于巴黎近郊圣克卢公园(Le Parc de Saint-Cloud)的《太阳王》(Le Défi du Soleil)。
相关资讯

荟萃:国际现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥2019秋季拍卖会

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00