Enormita nell’ Infinito

HSIAO Chin (XIAO Qin) (Taiwanese, 1935)

2008

Acrylic on canvas

110 x 250 cm

Estimate

Sold Price


Signature

Signed on the reverse Hsiao in English, Chin in Chinese, titled Enormita nell’ Infinito in Chinese and Italian, dated 2008 and inscribed 110 x 250 cm, acrylic

+ OVERVIEW

Sublimation Beyond Eternity - Hsiao Chin’s Eastern Abstractionism
“Man must reach a kind of limitless energy and exploration within a limited time, learning to understand the depths of the meaning of life in the non-physical world that is beyond time ”- Hsiao Chin
Observing the changing flow of the universe with the attitude of Ch’an, Hsiao Chin expresses eastern mindfulness philosophy with a western style, beginning a new possibility for post-war Chinese paintings. A style that frames the hidden feeling that “Time seems still yet infinite ”
The origins and history of post war Asian abstract art from China to Taiwan and in some western countries, span the time when there was a one way movement of western art influencing Asia. In the 1950’s we start to see the reverse, and Eastern cultures prevailed. Experiencing the change of time and cultural shifts, Zao Wou-ki, Chu Teh-Chun, Wu Guanzhong, Xie Jinglan, became pioneers of the modern art scene, their cultural recognition and creation from the heart leaves a classic style that is spread around the world. In this era of millions of potential forms of post war art, Hisao Chin shines in the western art scene with his Ch’an philosophies. A bridge connects the east and the west, and Hsiao Chin plays an important role. These days, post war abstraction is leading in modern markets, auctions and exhibitions, and so as a post war abstract artist, Hsiao Chin is in high demand.

A style transcending time
The origins of Hsiao Chin’s creative style come from the progressive concepts of Li Chun-shan, the modelling mechanics of Paul Klee, post war abstract art and a desire to re-introduce the surrealism of automatic techniques. This is what Hsiao Chin wishes to bring to the Western art scene. In the 1950’s Hsiao Chin was the first one to bring European art influences into Taiwan. He started a movement that included the “Tong-fang Art Group”, the first in Asian art history, changing the world of post war abstract art forever and revolutionising Chinese abstract painting.
"The purity of ideas and the reasons for creation are to understand the ”finite” in” infinity”, the reality of its thoughts and the understanding of the true meaning of life" - manifesto of Punto International Art Movement
In 1959, Hsiao Chin moved to Milan, Italy. Here, he felt the movement and heartbeat of the times and he reflected on his own culture. He stopped using his oil paints and began to explore the medium of ink and water based paints to fill his canvas. Then, in 1961, he began the remarkable, “Punto International Art Movement” with Italian artist Antonio Calderara, Japanese Sculptor Kenjiro Azuma, and Chinese artist Li Yuan-jia. They were to steep the Western art scene in their Chinese philosophy. From 1967 to 1976 Hisao Chin created the series “Hard-Edge”, in an attempt to establish a “static and yet constantly dynamic” living environment in this symbolic universe. 1970 to 1980 Hisao Chin evoked the “SURYA” and “SHAKTI” movements. Although Hsiao Chin recognised the cutting edge of ever changing art, he still saw art as a journey within.
In the 1990’s. Hsiao Chin faced difficulties in his personal life and was confronted with aspects of life and death that led him onto a spiritual path and the search for the deeper meaning of life. Through this search for what lies beyond, he discovered the eternal nature of life itself. “The Sublimation of Samantha'” and “Passage Through the Great Threshold” are both series that show an attitude of contentment and well being, his emotions and story are revealed through the colour and movement in the works. Hsiao Chins most iconic work is “Eternal Garden” in which he is reborn after passing through many trials. This series of works is still the most popular at auction, and the following 4 pieces represent brilliantly the state of Hsiao Chin’s heart after his Ch’an experience.
A changeful of colour after Ch’an
"After experiencing an enlightenment, it is finally clear that eternal life does not stop at this life, or in this world, but it is beyond the limits of life and death." - Hisao Chin
In The Eternal Garden Samantha - 6 there is a purple form above the pink background that represents the eternal form of the artist's daughter. The other side of the canvas shows more colour, representing the “other shores” from which his daughter sends inspiration from an unlimited source, those other shores are where the artists heart belongs, and where he will go when he leaves this life behind. Enormita nell' Infinito has a classic, “Eternal Garden” element, combining 2 colours, always leaving a blank area in the center that represents the channel between the artist and his daughter, an abundant well, a fine blend of Eastern perspective and the energies behind people’s relationships. La Parrione is a culmination of work between 1995 and 2005, after experiencing feelings of deep pain and having many revelations, Hsiao Chin expresses his feelings again on the eternity of life. His repeated use of warm colours in patches symbolises how waves and sand filter his spirit, settling down to a zen like clarity. Verso il Giardino Eterno was created in 2011, it is the promised land of abundance in energy and inspiration.
International museums and other relevant facilities search for primary collections
Since 1990, Hsiao Chin had exhibited his work in Europe, America, Taiwan and China. His works are displayed in many international museums as well as personal collections, his presence has been felt in many important cities of the world. Hsiao Chin is very intimate with the 3812 London/ Hong Kong gallery and the MGM Macau have a fine collection of Hsiao Chins works. In 2018, the artists works were exhibited in Shanghai at the Chinese Art Palace “Retrospective Exhibition: Hsiao Chin – Coming Home” and in Hong Kong at the Tsz Shan Monastery “ZEN。ART Bright Light – Homage to Ascendence” in March of 2019 his works were displayed in an exhibition entitled, “Les Couleurs du Zen: Peintures de Hsiao Chin” at the Musée National des Arts Asiatiques Guimet, in Paris, France. This exhibition in Paris was the second by any Eastern Artist, after the 2004 exhibition of Sanyu. This museum is home to the largest collection of Asiatic art outside of Asia, Hsiao Chin’s exhibition was a milestone for Eastern art in the West.
Hsiao Chin has won the highest honor in Taiwan's literary and art circles - the National Literary Award. In the post-2013 auction market, Hsiao Chin's works have risen steadily in price, and in 2018 he broke the highest transaction record. Recently, the auction market in Taipei and Hong Kong has continuously promoted Hsiao Chin's art. In a competitive world, collectors are looking to acquire Hsiao Chin’s works more and more.
Related Info

鸿之无限

萧勤 (台湾, 1935)

2008

压克力 画布

110 x 250 cm

预估价格

成交价格


签名备注

签名画背:Hsiao勤 2008 鸿之无限 Enormita nell' Infinito 110 x 250 cm 压克力

+ 概述

超越永恒的升华 ─ 萧勤的东方抽象

“人们须在有限的空间中达到一种无限大的能量和探索,在超越时间的非物质性世界中去学习、了解生命深刻的意涵。”—萧勤
以禅的态度观看宇宙生命的流变,萧勤以西方的表现方式诠释东方静观哲学,开创出战后中国绘画新的可能及风格,一种潜藏着“在时间上是静止而无限”的“萧勤风格”。
战后华人抽象艺术先驱发展的根源与脉络,从中国,台湾至欧美,从最初西方艺术的单向传入至1950年代后的艺术思想东学西渐。历经时代动荡、文化流转,赵无极、朱德群、吴冠中、谢景兰等艺坛现代先驱的文化体认至潜心创作经典风格举世流传。其身处战后艺术形式变化万千的大时代,萧勤以东方哲思活跃于战后西方艺坛,接通中西文化的重要桥梁,艺术史上地位举足轻重。战后抽象艺术领军当代市场提及现今艺博会或拍卖行目前竞相推荐的流派或团体,“战后抽象艺术家”绝对是领军市场的天价标的之一。

与时具进的划时代风格

萧勤创作概念的形成,来自李仲生的前卫艺术观念,非仅受到当时战后所发展出的抽象艺术概念影响,蕴蓄保罗克利的造型力学、抽象主义以及重现自动性技法的超现实主义毋宁是萧勤进入西方艺坛的座标轴。在1950年代,萧勤也是第一位将欧洲艺坛讯息领进台湾的先锋,发起华人艺术史上第一个前卫艺术运动“东方画会”,为亚洲的二战后抽象艺术发展中的重要变迁,并孕育出具革命性的东方抽象绘画精神。
“观念的纯粹性及创作的理由,是在于了解在『无限』之中之『有限』的范畴,其思想的现实及对生命真谛之领悟”—庞图国际艺术运动宣言
1959年移居米兰的萧勤感受到时代的脉动,反思自身文化,舍弃油彩表现而改以墨及水性颜料恣意流转于画布之上。1961年与李元佳、义大利画家卡尔代拉拉和日本雕塑家吾妻兼治郎发起了西方艺术史上卓然不群的“庞图国际艺术运动”以东方哲思浸润西方艺术。在1967至1976期间创作“硬边”系列,视平涂色面的色相对比,1970年代至1980年代时萧勤继续于西方艺坛发起“太阳国际艺术运动”(Surya语出梵文)以及“炁”(SHAKTI)运动,他敏锐地感受时代浪潮的流动,但对于萧勤而言,艺术仍是一场自身持续的内在探索。

禅境过后的色彩幻变

1990年,萧勤历经个人生命中的巨大顿挫,面对生死两茫茫,他转向性灵深处的自我度化以及生命议题的思索;借由寻求超脱的心境变化,悟出生命的永恒。“莎芒妲之升华”以及“度大限”等经典系列作为一种谛观生命的态度,透过充满个人情感的色彩为叙事体、流动性的画面构成,为艺术家对于生命意义的思索与观照。而其中萧勤最为深入的标的性系列“永久的花园”为艺术家历经生命中冲击后的的重生,此次拍卖征集的四件作品《在永久花园的Samantha-6》、《La Parrione》、《鸿之无限》以及《走向永久的花园》精彩呈现艺术家历经禅境后的心之所在,“永久的花园”为至今是仍相当受到藏家喜爱的经典系列作品。

“当经历且参悟了之后,终于明了,永恒的生命,并不仅仅止于此生、此世,而是在于生死大限度过后的化外光明彼岸。”— 萧勤

《在永久花园的Samantha- 6 》粉色画面上方一抹紫色,为艺术家女儿的象征,已超越有限的生命,走入“无限”的大境之中。较多颜色那方为彼岸,象征来自女儿源源不绝灵感泉源,亦为心之归属所在。《鸿之无限》有着非常经典永久的花园元素,主要由两组颜色组成,中间总隔着一些留白,为画家及女儿遥对之能量,丰沛且流动,亦将东方世界观注入更多人间情思。《La Parrione》为1995至2005的作品,历经极深痛处后的悟出,萧勤重新阐述了对于生命的永恒性,他以重复性的温润色块化为流动的色彩仿佛层层浪沙,显示此时艺术家的心灵状态透出澄净永恒的意象。《走向永久的花园》为艺术家2011年所创作,为充满丰沛能量的应许之地。

国际美术馆及重要机构收藏新标的

1990年代起,萧勤相继于欧美艺坛、台湾及中国等不同地方举办作品回顾展。丰富的国际博物馆典藏,及众多私人收藏,足迹踏遍许多重要城市。与来自伦敦及香港的3812画廊有着密切海外合作,澳门美狮美高梅酒店亦有其收藏。2018年于上海中华艺术宫举办“世界大同 — 萧勤回家”回顾展以及于香港慈山寺“禅·艺术:明光 — 向升华致敬”萧勤作品展。2019年3月于法国巴黎吉美国立亚洲艺术博物馆展出“禅色:萧勤的绘画”,是继2004年常玉个展后所展出的第二位东方艺术家。该博物馆为亚洲地区之外有最大量亚洲艺术收藏之博物馆,此展览亦为艺术家重要里程碑之一。

萧勤曾获台湾文艺界最高殊荣 — 国家文艺奖,在2013年后拍卖市场里萧勤价格日趋攀升,更于2018年突破最高成交纪录。近期,台北与香港两地的拍卖市场,不断推介萧勤的艺术,随着行情的看涨,已成为收藏家们关注收藏标的。
相关资讯